WHITFORD,  William   [1846-1930]

William Whitford was, along with James Baxter, one of two medical men prominent as directors of Everton Football Club in its early years. Born in Armagh in 1846, after qualifying at Queen University, Belfast he came to set up practice at 37 Shaw Street L6 (now demolished). After his marriage in 1885 to Salome Bithiah Barratt he set up house at 47 Shaw Street L6. He later moved to Sandymount Drive, Wallasey.

Whitford was one of the many prominent Everton board members linked to the Liberal Party and especially its support for Irish Home Rule. He was a passionate temperance campaigner and the press of the time noted that whilst Everton’s new ground at Goodison Park would boast a “cocoa room” there would be no facilities for the sale of alcohol. Whitford gave financial support to the club to facilitate the club’s move from Anfield.

He died on 15th June 1930 and was buried at Anfield Cemetery. His memorial also includes reference to his son, RSM Herbert D Whitford, of the Manchester Regiment, who served at Gallipoli, Ypres and Passchendaele and died in 1979.

47 Shaw Street L6

The house Whitford moved to after his marriage in 1885.

A cartoon of Whitford which appeared in the  the Liverpool Echo [20-8-1910]


There is an interesting and well-researched article on Whitford on the webpage of  Sarsfield Memorials who renovated Whitworth's memorial stone in Anfield Cemetery.